Skip to content

Who in the world do you think you are?

September 22, 2011

Most people today would be surprised to know that the answer to this question is easier than you might think. Recently, I’ve been thinking about my “online presence” and what that means to the people around me.

You may think to yourself that you don’t need to know who I am, because you already know me. There are people however who need to know who you are and what you are about. I recently read an article shared by John Bergquist.  Here is the article in question, The Resume is dead.   If you took a moment to read the article, then this will all make more sense.   If you didn’t, let’s pause while you do.   Done?  Good.

This article made me really debate my online presence and what it meant to me and to others.  A quick Google search of my name brought up my Facebook & Google+ accounts respectively.  I thought about what someone who I might be interviewing with would think of the profile they would find when clicking on the link.

They instantly see my likes, dislikes, and perhaps even an embarrassing photo or two.  I have to admit, I instantly edited both profiles to shed a more professional light to who I am.  It really caused me to think about my perception of others based on their profiles as well.

Some were incomplete while others looked like nervous secret spies.  Fear of the online persona is a whole other issue altogether, but it does play a part in some peoples profiles.

Overall I’m excited to go in a dust off some old blogs (including this one) and really try to pursue a better internet bio.  I’d love your feedback.  See ya next time.

No comments yet

Leave a comment